Fall Wreaths

I love wreaths, but to date I’ve never had one other than around Christmas time. Growing up, my mom always made wonderful wreaths for Christmas time, each year’s was slightly different, I branched out on that tradition and decorated my door for the fall. My friend Elisha lit the fire under our butts when she pinned this tutorial on her Pinterest.

It worked out perfectly because I had tons of leftover burlap from my wedding. So with that, we decided it was time to head to Hobby Lobby to walk around memorized for hours and find our supplies. We each bought a twig grapevine (thanks Mom) wreath, a wooden letter representing our last names, and some fake flowers and branches and pretties to jazz it up. Here’s a during pic with just SOME of the random things we might have ended up using.

Elisha’s ended up being cute and feminine, then we ran out of hot glue.

So, I started using gorilla glue on mine. Now, I’m not trying to tell you what to do, but gorilla glue? Not a substitute for hot glue. It won’t work, so don’t bother.  After a few days your fall wreath will look like a falling wreath.

The letters we bought were bare wood so I used primer spray paint and then oil rubbed bronze. I was going to use Krylon’s Dover White but it would have faded away on top of the burlap where I wanted to place it. So, I ORBed that W. I also decided to attach some pretty Indian corn I picked up on our trip to the Pumpkin Patch. I was really worried they would fall off due to weight but so far so good. The odd combo of hot glue and gorilla glue seems to be doing the trick. I also secured it with some left over light weight wire that was used to accordian the burlap. My wreath ended up a little more manly than Elisha’s cute and planned out door decor but that kind of fits our personalities as well, haha.

I can’t wait to DIY another wreath for Christmas. Any one else trying substitutes that don’t quite work out in their projects? Any one else making their holiday decorations?

3 thoughts on “Fall Wreaths

    • I love that you have wreaths hanging in your home. I have a cranberry wreath that is technically from an after Christmas sale but I love the deep pop of red it brings to my living room. They are also a great cheap way to bring a large piece of art to an empty wall.

Leave a Reply

