Dining Room Inspiration

I know the general feeling I want in the dining room. I’m just scared to pull the trigger, further proof that I would never be in Gryffindor. ANYWAYS! Here’s the dining room as is.

Things to stay- curtains, the previous owner left them here, they are dang nice. It may not be apparent in the pictures but they are a very heavy grey velvet. I think they are from Restoration Hardware. I love that place but would never had made that splurge myself. Thanks previous owners!

More stuff that’s staying: The mirror that we scored for $30 bucks, the table and bench but not the chairs, the light that sort of waffles in my mind between cool and urban or sort of like a UFO landing on the table. (Then cue the internal battle of whether or not that’s cool.)

All artwork and side tables can go, as well as the rug- it’s a Pottery Barn hand-me-down that’s too small and very stained. It is perfect now because Charlotte indicates she’s done eating by throwing food on the floor and I don’t care if it gets stained. Any tips on how to break that habit? Right now we just yank the tray away as fast as possible and make her wait to get out of the chair while we clean up.

Back to the dining room.

I really want to paint navy above or below the chair rail. So that’s one decision I need to make. I also need to paint the chair rail white to match the trim, as well as the molding. I love that high contrast between navy and white. I love this example found on pinterest here:

Here’s a top half navy room.

As far as the chairs go, I would like to get some contrast going with 4 white chairs against the dark table like this mismatched set. Also 3 of the 4 we have now can go in the breakfast nook and I am sure I can find a spot for the other one around the house. I’m going for something similar to this:

That table below the mirror has traveled around to about every room on the main floor. It’s not even close to the look I want for this room which is more something like this from CB2.

On one of the walls adjacent to the window I am thinking about getting a craigslist piano and painting it white.

What to do about a rug. I’m not great at choosing rugs. I know we need something bigger. I only have two ideas, and they’re very different, but I think they are both safe choices. The first is traditional.

My other choice is a chevron rug. I worry that chevron is so popular now and the trend won’t continue, this rug is great though.

There’s one little thing that makes me want to throw the baby out with the bath water. Pardon the expression. We have gorgeous coved ceilings in our living room and dining room. It’s one of the perks of living in a 1935 tudor. It seems a shame to ignore them and leave them white.

Sigh. Advice?

3 thoughts on “Dining Room Inspiration

  1. I’ll let you know if my husband ever lets me part with it. Every one loves it, and I normally do, but sometimes it does give me that UFO vibe. Thanks for stopping by to check it out!

  2. Pingback: A “Tweaked” Dining Room « Happy Happy Home

Leave a comment